Fr. O'Neill's GAA Club News

09 December, 2013

Annual Dinner Dance.
We held our Annual Joint GAA Club / Camogie Club Dinner Dance last Saturday night in The Garryvoe Hotel with 170 people attending, a fantastic night was had by all with music provided on the night by DJ Eoin Mac. Our all-conquering Prem. Minor 2 Hurling Lge. and Championship double winners were presented with their County medals by Martin O Brien of Rebel Og central and our Jnr. Football Lge. Div. 2 winners were presented with their medals by Donal O Keeffe vice-Chairman of the East Cork Jnr. Divisional Board. Awards presented on the night were, Young Player of the year: Joint winners Mark O Keeffe and Padraig McMahon, Player of the Year: Billy Murphy, Club Man of the year: Dave Colbert, other presentations were made to Sarah Harrington Ladies Snr. Football All Ireland medal winner with Cork  and to Aidan Swayne for his many years of service on the GPC of the East Cork Jnr. Divisional Board.
Golf Society AGM
Our Golf Society held its AGM last Tuesday night in Aghavine, after a detailed review of the past years outings the election of Officers for 2014 took place which resulted as follows: Captain Frank Carey, Vice Cpt. Josephine Swayne, Secretary Francis Millerick, Treasurer Michael Millerick, Ex.Offico Ger Donnelly, Fixtures Secretary Dick O Driscoll, Committee: Maurice Conway, Michael Quinn, Mary Dunne, Robbie Dalton, Shay Rochford and Cathal Rochford.
Long Púc 2013
Our Annual Long Púc takes place this year on St.Stephens day starting in Ladysbridge at 12 Noon. Teams of 3 with prizes for the overall winners, runners up, 3rd and 4th and also for the best Juvenile Team, presentation of prizes will take place in The Thatched Inn. A Shield presented to the Club by Dean Parker will be presented to the Annual winners from this year onwards.
Club AGM
Our Clubs AGM takes place on this Friday at 8pm in Aghavine, every body welcome.
Juvenile Club
Fe 16 Premier I Hurling League Final
Fr.O Neill’s 2-13 v Kerry Development Squad 1-15 
Fr.O Neill’s had another fantastic year in 2013. Along with the Premier II Minor Hurling Lge.and Championship Co.titles we also captured the Fe 16 Premier I Hurling league and the Fe 14 Premier II Hurling league.
In the fantastic surrounds of the Mallow GAA grounds we took on Kerry.  This was a novel pairing with Fr.O Neill’s representing Cork against the old foe. The little parish, against the county.
This was a fiercely contested game, forwards found it hard to get space for clean strikes as both sets of backs stood firm and hooked and blocked for fun. Both teams mostly relied on their superb free takers for scores.  We led by 3 points at half time but that was quickly eroded at the start of the second half. Kerry took control in the middle third and deprived u of primary possession. Kerry held a 3 point lead with five minutes left on the clock and that could and should have been more with the possession and opportunities they created. Things did not look good at this stage for us but this team have been in many tight spots before and with All Black like belief they turned this game in seconds. The ball broke in the Kerry back line and Billy Dunne ran on to it showing his blistering pace, he beat a few backs and finished to the net. From the puck out O Neill’s won possession in the middle of the field, found Cillian Broderick who went on a solo run and struck a great point on the run. This proved to be the winner as the final whistle blew at the puck out.
Cillian Broderick also had the privilege of scoring the winning point against Newcestown in the Minor County Final.
Kerry had defeated County champions Blackrock in the semi-final after a great league campaign and were entitled to be disappointed to be left with nothing. We made the most of home advantage in the semi-final against Sarsfield’s and were under pressure not to lose another final,  after losing the County Championship Final in a replay to Blackrock. 
Panel: Conor O Driscoll, Cal Hegarty, Mark Motherway, Michael Millerick, Ryan Kenneally, Eoin Motherway (Capt), Daniel Harrington, Colm Swayne, Conor Parker, Cillian Broderick, Sean O Connor, Declan Dalton, Ger Millerick, Billy Dunne, Adam Kenneally, Adam Harrington, Oisin Murphy, Patrick Flannigan, Colin Sloane, Clive Dunne, Eoghan Dorgan, Ciarr O Connor, Olan Steele,

Fe 14 Premier II Hurling league Final
Fr O Neill’s 3-09 v Bishopstown 0-09
We had a great win over Bishopstown in the Premier II hurling league Final. Fr O Neill’s showed a great attitude from the start and played with great passion to overcome the County champions. Playing against the wind in the first half O Neill’s were only a point down and second half goals from Loic Neufang, John Millerick and Eoghan Dorgan put the game beyond Bishopstown.
This team are improving all the time and finished of the year in great style.
Panel; William Abernetty, Colin Sloane, Ciaran Cullinane, Olan Steele, Donal Griffin, Ciarr O Connor, Domnic Barry, Ger Mellerick, Adrian Leahy, Clive Dunne, Arthur Neufang, Gearoid Finn, John Millerick, Eoghan Dorgan, Loic Neufang, Aidan McAvoy, Jason Hankard, Simon Walsh, Brian Kenneally, David O Neill.
Since Rebel Og was formed in 2011 Fr O Neill’s Role of honour is as follows:
Minor Premier II Hurling Championship (2)
Minor Premier II Hurling League (2)
Fe 16 East A Football Championship (2)
Fe 16 Premier I Hurling League (1)
Fe 15 Premier I Hurling Championship (2)
Fe 15 Premier I Hurling League (2)
Fe 14 Premier II Hurling (1)
Fe 14 Premier II Football (1)
Club Shop
The Club shop is open next Tuesday from 7 to 8 PM.
Great idea’s for Christmas gifts or vouchers. Contact Paudie at 0863843675 or Dan 0861704041