Killeagh GAA Club News

24 November, 2013



NEWSLETTER FOR W/C November 25th 2013 .
Club Lotto Results;
The latest club lotto details for this past week were as follows:
Numbers drawn were 5, 8, 15 and 26.
There was no winner of this week’s €3600 jackpot. €30 each goes to Clint Galvin, Dick Griffin, James Fogarty and Margaret Ryan.
The jackpot for next draw on Nov 26th will be €3800.
The Club Lotto Draw takes place each Tuesday night and many thanks to all for supporting our club lotto.
Club Shop;
The Club shop is open on most Saturday mornings from 10.30am to 11.30am. Plan a visit to your club shop where you can choose from a wide selection of sports accessories in your club colours. Replica jerseys (all sizes), shorts, training clothing, etc. are available for all ages Please support your club by purchasing from the club shop.
Championship Draws:
East Cork Draws:
Junior hurling league Div2 - Three teams have tied on five points each and play-offs are now required in order to determine the final placings. Killeagh, Dungourney and Cloyne are the teams involved.
Dinner Dance
This years Dinner Dance will take place on Saturday November 30th and will be held in the Garryvoe Hotel.  Tickets for this great annual celebration night are priced at a moderate €30 and the live music will be performed by Men in Black.
Annual General Meeting
Our AGM will take place in our GAA complex on Monday December 2nd and will commence at 7.30pm sharp. All are welcome to attend.
Remembering Team of 1988
There was an enjoyable night in celebrating the victorious team of 1988 on Friday November 22nd 2013. The night got underway with mass celebrated by new PP Fr. Tim Hazlewood and continued later with food, refreshments and plenty of reminiscing at The Old Thatch Bar, Killeagh afterwards. Team manager of the 1988 team, Mr. Ray Rochford, got proceedings underway by welcoming former players and their families, representatives of deceased players, 1988 and 2013 chairmen and committee members and gave a brief outline of the night ahead as well as anecdotes from 1988. He also welcomed Fr. Tim to the GAA club for his first official engagement and subsequently handed over the reins for him to celebrate the special mass. Fr. Tim again welcomed everybody to the mass and commenced by inviting representatives of the deceased players to light candles in their memory. He celebrated a beautiful mass where many of the players also played a part with readings and prayers. Following the mass, Ray Rochford took to the floor to introduce each squad member and present each with a beautiful framed picture of the team. He also gave a little history of each player which was well received with a generous round of applause each time. Ray was himself presented with a framed photograph by main organiser of the celebration, Mr. Damien Irwin. Ray thanked all for attending the evening, he thanked Fr. Tim for celebrating the mass and congratulated Damien and his team for coming together to organise a wonderful event for the Killeagh GAA Clubs history. The night finished up in another famous house in Killeagh, Kennedys Bar, who have a long and proud association with Killeagh GAA Club. The club and organisers of the evening would like to thank most sincerely the  numerous, anonymous donations for the presentation evening which they received. The victorious East Cork Junior ‘A’ Hurling Championship and League winners of 1988 were the first to win since 1971 and so ended a long famine. The full squad were as follows: Ger Ahern, Adrian Budds, Tomás Fitzgibbon (RIP), Ger Fitzgibbon, Pat Galvin, Brendan Galvin, Colie Galvin, Kevin Galvin, Eddie Hayes, Damien Irwin, Paudie Kearney, Martin Keniry, Mike Landers, Eddie Landers(RIP), Richard Landers, Andy Leahy, Declan O’Regan, Thomas O’Regan, Paudie Power, Timmy Scanlon, Ger Scully, Tommy Seward, Donie Treacy, Finny Treacy, Mattie Treacy(Captain), Tomás Treacy, Pat Walsh, James Walsh(RIP).
Team Mentors: Ray Rochford, John Clifford, Dick Doocey, Dr. Matt Morehan, Pat O’Callaghan.
Killeagh GAA Golf Society;
President: Mr. Kieran Scully, Captain: Mr. Ray Rochford, Secretary: Mr. Ger Ahern.
The next outing for the society is the Christmas Fun Scramble. It will take place on Saturday December 7th at West Waterford Golf Club. It is a great way for beginners to get involved in the society and all are welcome to take part. Cost of golf on the day will be €10 for West Waterford Club members, €20 for juveniles and €30 for everybody else. Further details of the outing and booking of tee times are available, as ever, from this year’s society captain, Mr. Ray Rochford on 0872330054.

Our 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004 boys have played two rounds of the Winter Indoor Hurling Leauge in Youghal GAA Hall on the last two Monday evenings. Youghal is certainly a hotbed of hurling at the moment with their soon-to-be-senior hurlers adding the Munster Intermediate title to their County Premier Intermediate title, and we wish them every success in their efforts to add the All-Ireland crown to these successes. So the vibes in the air are good for our boys when they head in for their half-hour (or perhaps an hour if lucky) of non-stop action on Monday evenings. After two rounds, Cian McDonald’s Blue Team lead the Group 1 League with full points after their initial victory over Oisin McCarthy’s Yellow Team and a narrow 8-7 victory over Karl O’Toole’s Red Team last week. Tommy Noonan’s Greens won their opening game but were beaten last week. In Group 2, both Jonathan Guerin’s Green Team and Olan Coleman’s Blue Team have 100% records after the first two games, and are due to play each other this week. Dara Motherway’s Red Team and Danny Cunnningham’s Yellow Team have yet to register points and face each other this week, although both teams have been playing well. One more week of league action will be followed by semi-finals on Monday December 2nd and the finals on Monday December 9th. Keep up the hard work, lads, and get that swing up to speed to move that ball!
REDS 1: Karl O’Toole, Ciaran O’Rourke, Adam Danaher, Ben Jennings, Darragh Buckley, Dale McMahon, David Buckley.
GREENS 1: Tommy Noonan, Daniel Lucey, Brian Murphy, Eoin Brenner, Evan Lane, Jack Flanagan, Tommy Morrison.
BLUES 1: Cian McDonald, Paul Kent, Ryan Farquhar, Aaron Fitzgibbon, Rory Lynch, Daniel Walsh, Ciaran Brennan.
YELLOWS 1: Oisin McCarthy, Darragh O’Connor, Padraig Landers, David Scully,, Colm Landers, Conor Meade, Danny Fitzgerald.
REDS 2: Dara Motherway, Cathal Fitzgibbon, Richie Landers, Christian Coughlan, Remy Bernard, Rory Motherway.
GREENS 2: Jonathan Guerin, Robert Sinclair, Paul Delaney, Ciaran Leahy, Jamie Fogarty, Ben Budds, Ben Fogarty.
BLUES 2: Olan Coleman, Ryan McCarthy, Owen Cosgrove, Robbie Treacy, Daniel Doherty, Darragh Coleman.
YELLOWS 2: Danny Cunningham, Olan Broderick, Ben O’Connor, David Collins, Paudie Mackey, David Buttimer.

A good attendance at the Killeagh-Ita’s Juvenile AGM on Wednesday last saw some changes in personnel at the top table, and the beginnings of plans for 2014 being put in place. Many thanks to those who turned up and to those who have already volunteered for coaching or other posts for the coming year. And if you haven’t been earmarked for a specific role, don’t wait to be asked. Contact Ursula Coleman (secretary), Colman Motherway (Chairperson), Liz Sinclair (Vice-Chairperson) or Tricia Landers (PRO) if you would like to help in any way, we’ll take all the help available.