Youghal GAA Club News

30 October, 2013

Trophies Keep Rolling In
Another amazing weekend for the Youghal Club as they collected 3 more trophies and also qualified for the Munster Intermediate hurling semi final.
JHL Div 3 FInal
Youghal 3-16 Cobh 1-17 After Extra Time.
Youghal's Junior hurlers won the Owenacurra Cup in dramatic fashion last Saturday in Cobh when they defeated the host club in the final of the East Cork Div 3 hurling league. It's a wonderful achievement by this bunch of players when one consider that the combined age of the two corner backs would'nt come within an ass's roar of the age of the man who stood between them in the full back line and also the combined age of the full back and centre back was over 80 and you can add in 7 kids that these two great servants of Youghal have between them also. Yes lifelong friends Andrew Murphy, Vincent Murray and Alan Geary led this team to a marvellous victory and one they will cherish for the rest of their days when they had to go to extra time, level at 1-12 apiece at full time, and this sets them up nicely for the championship semi final which is due to be played very soon. Goals from Ronan O Sullivan, Colin Keenaghan and Aron Daly combined with 5 points from returned "Prodigal Son" from OZ Micheal O Laocha helped by wonderful displays from the rest of the team ensured victory for the Youghal lads.
Team. K Ranson, M Flaherty, V Murray, C Savage, C Morrisson, A Geary, P O Mahoney, A Kenny, A Joyce, R Desmond, A Daly, M O Laocha, C Keenaghan, A Murphy, R O Sullivan. Subs used: Aiden Foley, Aiden O Neill, Scott Sullivan, Bill Mc Grath, Liam Mc Carthy.
Cork County Minor Camogie Final.
Youghal 2-6 Bride Rovers 0-5. AET.
Our camogie girls collected their second County title in a few weeks as the minors replicated the Juniors and won the County final in great style after extra time defeating Bride Rovers by 7 points. Another wonderful achievement by the ladies and may we wish them many many congratulations.
Munster Intermediate Hurling 1/4 final.
Youghal 4-13 Ardmore 1-12.
Played in Pairc Ui Rinn last Sunday, one can only imagine the build up to this game with only the Youghal bridge separating these two sides. Ardmore had wind advantage in the first half but it was Youghal who started brightest when Alan Frahill O Connor scored 1-2 inside the first 6 minutes. Then just as John Gartland rattled the Youghal net a minute later, a meelee developed and Ardmore centre back Declan Prendergast received a straight red card and his team were down to 14 men after only 8 minutes. But this seemed to spur on Ardmore and at half time they led 1-8 to 1-5 mainly through the inspirational play of Waterford senior Seamus Prendergast.
Ardmore added two more points in the first 3 minutes of the second half to extend their lead to 5 points before Ciaran O Mahoney, who scored the winning point in the county final blasted the ball to the Ardmore net to stage another remarkable Youghal comeback. Amazingly when Seamus Prendergast scored his 9th point in the 12th minute, it was to be Ardmore's final score of the game as Youghal, led by captain marvel Bill Cooper, lay siege to the Ardmore goal for the final 18 minutes and further goals from Andrew Curtin, (on as a sub for the injured Brett Moloney in the first half) and another right at the death for Ollie Dempsey, ensured victory for the Youghal lads, who now travel to Co Clare next weekend to play the Clare County Champions. It was another great performance by the team as a whole and they also picked up the Donal Lenane trophy which was presented by the Lenane family from Ardmore, as an annual tournament trophy between the two clubs a number of years ago in honour of Donal Lenane. Team: R Cunningham B O Sullivan J Grace K Walsh O Dempsey 1-0 C Spillane Barry Ring J O Mahoney D Ring C O Mahoney 1-0 A F O Connor 1-3 B Cooper 0-2 (capt)  Brett Moloney Brendan Ring 0-3 Lee Desmond 0-4. Subs used: A Curtin 1-1 and B Coleman.
Night At The Dogs.
A superb night at the Youghal greyhound stadium was held by the juvenile side of the club last Friday night and it was kindly sponsored by East Cork Oil for which the club are eternally grateful. Also our sincere thanks to our special guests who turned up on the night, Davy Russell, Seamus Harnedy, Angela Walsh and Anne Marie Walsh who captained this years victorious All Ireland winning Cork Ladies Football Team.