Russell Rovers GAA Club News

02 September, 2013

Junior Hurling Div 2 League Russell Rovers 1-16 Carrigtwohill 0-10

Our junior hurlers showed no sign of rustiness as they overcame Carrigtwohill in the League last Saturday in Shanagarry. With no hurling played since the East Cork championship defeat to Sarsfield in the end of July, the rovers lined up with the aid of a stiff breeze in the first half. Rovers opened the scoring from a free that was slotted over by Jack McGrath in the opening minutes of the game; this was followed up by a Carrig point. Rovers started to use the breeze to their advantage notching up six unanswered point, five coming from play. Carrigtwohill added another point before another flurry of Rovers points from Daniel O’Brien, Kevin Tattan and Kieran Walsh meant the rovers held a nine point lead at the half time score, rovers 0-12 Carrig 0-3.

Playing against the strong breeze rovers expected a strong Carrig assault in the second half but had a dream start when Daniel O’Brien hit the ball back to the 21 yard line where Kevin Tattan was to fire the ball into the Carrigtwohill goal. Carrig responded with a couple of points from frees. The game started to get a small bit scrappy halfway through the second half with both sides scoring equal points and no side getting the upper hand. When the final whistle came rovers had a nine point victory in the bag and a good performance to boot. The win ensures rovers advance to the league final with one game left against Cloyne, time and date to be confirmed, and a 100% record in the league campaign. A good sign from the win was the number of points scored from play, 13 in total, and the good attacking play by the rovers forward line, particularly the return of Kevin Tattan, who scored 1-4.

Team: E.Ivers, A.Archer, D.Whelehan, K.Ivers, P.Lane, JP.Ivers, J.Ahern, K.Walsh (0-3,1F), M.Fitzgerald, E.McGrath, K.Tattan (1-4), J.McGrath(0-3,2F), B.Whelehan, D.Crowley(0-4), D.O’Brien(0-2)

Subs: C.Quinlan(used), T.Crowley, B.Kearney, B.Crowley, R.Walsh, A.Beausang, J.O’Flynn, J.Beausang, S.Fleming


Congratulations to Eoghan O’Sullivan, Shane Finn, Josh Beausang, James Kennefick and Kevin Moynihan who represented Cork panels over the weekend.