Aghada GAA Club News

14 August, 2013

Sat 10th Aug Senior Football Championship Aghada 3-14 Ilen Rovers 1-10
Aghada turned on the style to comprehensibly defeat Ilen Rvs at Ballygarvan last Sat Evening.
With Pearse O’Neill firing on all cylinders Aghada took this game by the scruff of the neck as we entered the last quarter with goals from Josh and Ronan following points by Pearse and John Connolly.

Before that it was a different story after Aghada commanding the game for the opening thirty minutes Ilen wiped out all our good work in the space of a four minute injury spell scoring 1-2.

On resuming Aghada set about their task with great confidence but despite three points from Sub Cian Fleming failed to sake off Ilen till the  fore mentioned last quarter and we now take our place in the last 16 against Divisional side Carbery 

Aghada’s trump card was the bench when Cian, Connolly and JP O’Connor were introduced it gave Aghada a new lease of life.

With Pearse in the form of his life Aghada are a different team but it was an all round performance as all 18 that took to the field excelled

Make no mistake, this was an immense performance, the best Aghada have played in many a long day, according to many in the crowd.
The entire panel as well as the line were united and professional. The attitude was exemplary and the substitutions worked perfectly, with good players being brought ashore, players who had given their all in the cause, to be replaced by players who knew what they had to do. They did it brilliantly. Well done to Ronan and his selectors

A special word for Eoin Savage, who buried his grandfather earlier in the day, but still performed heroically at centre field. Nothing we didn't know Sav but, as you made us proud , given his commitment to the GAA, you also your Grandfather proud. You could not have paid him more respect!
Our sincere condolences go out to the entire Savage and Smiddy families.
Team and Scores Ray Savage (0-1 free), Tim Hartnett, Billy Hennessy, Brendan Crowley, Colm Power, Ronan Power, Shane Wall, Pearse O’Neill (0-5 frees 0-3), Eoin Savage, Ml Russell (Capt), Ger Melvin, Kieran O’Connor, Tom O’Neill, Josh O’Shea (1-1), Ronan Kennedy (2-2); Subs used Stephen Cashman for Crowley inj 22m, Cian Fleming (0-4 frees 0-3) for Melvin h/t, John Connolly (0-1) for Russell 39m, John Paul O’Connor for Eoin Savage 43m           
Other Club results
Fri 9th Aug U16 Premier 2 Hurling C'ship Ballinhassig 1-12 Aghada 0-17
Wed 7th Aug Ladies EC Minor B League Aghada lost to Rockbán
Tue 6th Aug U15 Camogie league Aghada 3-3 Castlelyons 6-4
Mon 5th Aug Tesco Homegrown Junior County Championship Aghada 4-3 Bishopstown 4-12

Fri 9th Aug U16 Premier 2 Hurling C'ship Ballinhassig 1-12 Aghada 0-17
Wed 7th Aug Ladies EC Minor B League Aghada lost to Rockbán
Tue 6th Aug U15 Camogie league Aghada 3-3 Castlelyons 6-4
Mon 5th Aug Tesco Homegrown Junior County Championship Aghada 4-3 Bishopstown 4-12

As Cork have reached the hurling All- Ireland ,please note the following regarding tickets
1: all orders must be sent to this the mobile number 086 2760979 -otherwise I will forget it and leave someone down
2: deadlines (details later) and orders can't be changed.
3, priority must go to club members, ie those who are registered members of Aghada CLG.
4: The advice is, written and early.

Lastly, the demand will be crazy, I'd say so regarding the allocation, we'll do our best

Chill Insurance have take over the Cork sponsorship and just to let everyone know that there is a scheme from Chill that if you get your insurance from them, that €10 goes to the club.

Lotto Next week Draw for €5,750 at: AT: Guileen Arms Thur next: Aug 22nd (tickets sponsored by Rosie’s Bar). Last’s result winner: none; NUMBERS DRAWN: 5, 8, 21, 27. lucky dip 5 winners - €30  Leslie Berry -c/o Nigel Berry, Luke O’Riordan - c/o Jacko's, Mary Cashman – Castlemartyr, Austin Stack, Mary Rice


June 1943 East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship Aghada 5 – 8. Youghal 4 – 3

Aghada Team. T McCarthy, D McCarthy, J Ahern, W Ahern, P Cashman, N Day, J Farrell, T Murphy, J Lenane, S Thorpe, J Keane, W Wall, J Higgins, J Walsh, T Crotty,

Youghal Team. W Taggart, M Coyne, W Sloane, M Sullivan, W Arnott, J Arnott, J Healy, M Loughman, T Ryan. G Swayne, C Cotter. M Cotter, W Cooper, T Hennessy, J Murphy. Sub: P McGrath for T Ryan. Referee;  Fr M Donovan. Half time score:  Youghal 3 – 3 Aghada 2 – 3.

July 1943 East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship Aghada 4-6 Cloyne 3-3
The one outstanding game that emerged from the A grade hurl¬ing championship was the meet¬ing of near neighbours Aghada and Cloyne in the second round at Midleton. A pleasing feature of the afternoon was the tremen¬dous display given by both teams and, although Aghada won in the end by 4-6 to 3-3, Cloyne were much closer than the scoreline suggested.
Aghada had the assistance of two former Russell Rovers play¬ers, Aidan Johnson and Tadgh O’Driscoll, who captained the team. Later in the year, O’Driscoll had the honour of playing for Fer¬moy when they took on Clon¬akilty in the county senior football final. Aghada enjoyed a good victory in this game, only to lose to Midleton in the semi-final by 6-4 to 4-4.

AGHADA: Jimmy Farrell, Daw O’Driscoll, Willie Wall, Joe Spillane, Joe Lehane, Sam Thorpe, Mick Bransfield, Jimmy Walsh, Willie Aherne, Tadgh O’Driscoll (capt.), Aidan Johnson (Ballycotton), Michael McCarthy, Tommy McCarthy.

You can follow us on twitter for up to the minute news you can also follow the games score by score at Aghadapro@twitter

Aghada have a face book page have a look and tell us if you like it

Please note that fixtures can change, consult the web for up to date information