Castlelyons GAA Club News

09 April, 2013

Annual General meeting

The Castlelyons GAA AGM was held before a large attendance on Fri 30 Nov.

Secretary Donal Barry read minutes of last years AGM and gave a thorough account of all the happenings of the club during the past year both on and off the pitch.

Treasurer  Con lawlor presented his report on the financial position of the club in which he outlined all the Income and Expenses for the year.  The cost of running the club continue to increase on a yearly basis and he again outlined the importance of the club lotto as the main source of income.He encouraged everyone to buy a weekly ticket and if possible sell a book to friends and neighbors.

Chairman Anthony O Regan in his address gave a comprehensive report of all the club activities during the past year. He thanked all players, managers ,coaches, physios and first aid people for the huge effort put in all year since the year began in Jan 2012.

Kieran McGann as manager Justin McCarthy as coach and John Barrett as selector were thanked for their work with the Prem. Intermediate team .  No silverware was won but this team gave some fantastic performances during the year and we look forward  to next years campaign.

John Healy Ml O Donovan and William O Sullivan  were thanked for their work with Junior B panel. This team put on some great displays and were congratulated on and thanked for their efforts.

Mick Spillane, Maurice Caroll, Dave Hegarty and Dave Hoare looked after the U21 hurling and football  for the year.

This panel produced our only championship silverware when they won East Cork U21 B football.Anthony thanked management and players for their dedication and effort throughout the year.

Colm Murphy , Anthony O Regan , Con Lawlor, Dave Kenny and Brendan Hoare looked after the Minor panel.This group of players, even though short on numbers, put up some fantastic performances and management and players were thanked for their effort.

Eoin Murphy Shane Hickey and Padraig O Brien took charge of the Junior B football team.This team did very well considering the number of players committing to play football. Next year it is hoped to get more players to commit to playing football on a regular basis. Management and players were thanked for their effort throughout the year.

During the past year the club had representatives on Cork U21 and Minor panels. This was Colm Spillane ,Colm Barry and Anthony Spillane. The club congratulate them and wish them well for next year.

The Chairman thanked Asumta Mangan and the people of Fas for all their work in the pitch during the year and he also acknowledged the work of Bridie Milward in the bar and community centre.

South Coast Transport came on board again this year as the clubs main sponsor for which the club are extremely grateful. The club held a golf classic in May 2012 which proved to be very successful. Donal O Leary and his committee did Trojan work on this project and they and the sponsors that came on board were thanked.Other private sponsors came on board during the year and these were also thanked.

The weekly Lotto continues to be the main source of funding for all three clubs. Ml Hegarty and the Lotto committee are to be thanked for the work they do on a weekly basis.

The chairman congratulated the Juvenile Club and the Comogie Club on their successes during the year . Well done to all officers and mentors on the excellent job that they are doing.

Anthony wished Kieran McGann best of luck as he seeks the position of  Irish and Cultural Officer of Cork County Board at the Annual Convention on Sun 9th Dec.

In conclusion chairman thanked County Board and East Cork Board delegates, Insurance reps , Knocknard race volunteers , County Board Draw Coordinator , J Healy for acting as Physo for teams  and his fellow officers Con Lawlor and Donal Barry.


Election of Officers for 2013

Life president ;               Tom Joe O'Riordan

President        ;             Jer Barry

Vice Presidents ;              Fr Coleman ,Dave Hegarty ,Martin Dorgan ,Seamus Sexton ,Donal O'Connell

Chairperson  ;                Anthony O'Regan

Vice Chairman;              John Healy

Hon. Secretary;                Donal barry

Ass. Secretary ;               Con Lawlor

Hon Treasurer  ;              Con Lawlor

PRO              ;              Denis Fenton

Ass. PRO       ;              Donal O Leary

Insurance Officer  ;       Sean Kenny

East Cork Board rep ;    John Healy , Seamus Sexton

Co Board Reps ;           Kieran McGann , John Barrett


Lotto Results for 03-12-2012

The numbers drawn were 1 ,16 ,21 ,23 .

There was no winner
The jackpot was   15,400
The next draw will take place on Monday night at the PeddLers Bar

The following won 20 euro

Paul Barry   C/O   Ml Hegarty

Ml Henley   C/O Peddlers Bar

Donal Howard  C/O  Post Office

Shane O Sullivan  C/O  Criss O Sullivan

John Healy Jnr  C/O  John Healy

Rita Granville  C/O  Macs Shop

Gillian O Sullivan  C/O  Post Office

Ann Stack  C/O  Farriers Bar