Aghada GAA Club News

03 April, 2013

All roads led to Midleton for the U21 B football final against Dungourney next Sunday evening at 6-30.

After a highly impressive campaign Aghada have reached their 1st B final since 1999 when we beat Fr O’Neills. We have been plying our trade at A level since, wining three titles in that time (2000, 2004, 2008).

In our opening game against Cloyne our back was to the wall for long periods but then we turned it on and won well in the end. The next game against Cobh we improved again and that brought us to the semi final stage against Glenville where again we impressed.


Dungourney also had impressive wins over Fr O’Neills and Castlegoold a combination of Lisgoold and Castlemartyr to make the final. Here is the team that lined out in the semi final. Jack Hayes, Shane Crowley, Kane Looney, Shane Dorney, Tim Hartnett , Michael Gilroy, Brian Condon, William Leahy, Raymond Savage (0-2 frees), Dave Rice, Jake O’Donoghue, Tommy Dobbin (1-0), Ronan Kennedy (Capt) (1-5 frees 0-3), Josh O’Shea (1-2 free 0-1),Shane Bennett; Subs; Georgio Corigliano Kennedy (inj)42m, Osín Lynch for O’Donoghue, Ryan O’Keeffe for Condon, Ml Burchill for Bennett, James O'Leary for Dobbyn all 56m, Ger O’Brien was injured that day.   


Other results

Mon 1st April U12 Girls FL Aghada 6-6 Inch 1-3

Mon 1st April Junior Ladies FL Aghada 4-6 Castlemagner 2-8; team ; Caoimhe Robinson, Elaine Terry, Laura Savage, Laura Burchill, Julie Moynihan, Sinead O Driscoll, Cassie Tynan, Hannah Rose, Roisin Phelan, Ciara McGrath, Sorcha Phelan, Chantal Thomas, Ciara Counihan, Sophie Bawden, Jennifer Lewis, Claire Coughlan

Sat 30th Mar J H L Div 4 Aghada 0-3 Ballinacurra 4-14 team; John O’Brien, Cain Looney, Jake Hayes, Brian Condon, Eoin Cotter, Alan Creedon, Aidan O’Connell, Alan Walsh, Aidan O'Connell, Jake O’Donoghue (0-1), Osín Lynch (0-10), Fergal Culligan,

Ml Burchill, Anthony Connelly, Ryan O’Keeffe (0-1) sub Ray Savage for Condon (inj) 3m.

Sat 30th Mar U16 Girls FL Aghada 2-6 Rockbán 1-1

Thurs 28th March U16 football prem 2 league Aghada 3-4 Passage 0-9 Team: Ciaran O Shea, Jordan Tynan, Edward Leahy, Aaron Berry, Tadgh Gilroy. Aaron Butler, Paul Daly, John Looney, Jack McDonnell, Cian Savage, Stephen O Halloran (0-2) Charlie Terry, Luke O Connell (1-1) Daniel Creedon (0-1), Jack Farmer (2-0) Subs Used Declan Foley, Stephen Daly. Matthew Leahy, Matthew Kidney. Kalen O Donoghue.

Tue 26th Mar I H L Div 2 Aghada 3-7 Watergrasshill 0-23


Sat 6th April U15 Hurling P H L 2 Aghada V Ballygiblin in Rostellan at 3pm

Sat 6th April U12 P H L Aghada v Eire Óg in Rostellan on,3pm

Sun 7th April U14 B H L Aghada v Bride Rvs in Rostellan at 12 noon

Sun 7th U21 B Football Final at 6-30 in Midleton

Aghada v Dungourney

Tue 9th April U16 H L P2 Passage v Aghada away at 6.30pm

Wed 10th April S F L Aghada v Nemo Rangers home 7-30

Thurs 11th April U14 B H L Mayfield v Aghada away at 6.30pm

14th April Minor Football Championship Aghada v Boherbue

Lotto; Next week Draw for €5,250 at: THE LONG POINT Thur next: April 4th  (tickets sponsored by Rosie’s Bar). Last’s result winner: none; numbers drawn: 1, 8, 11, 12 lucky dip winners - €30 each Gerard Wall, Linda Gilroy, Irene Garde - Knockgriffen, Midleton, Dave O’Hanlon - c/o bridge club, Brian Buttimer - c/o Paul Kilbane


You can follow us on twitter for up to the minute news you can also follow the games score by score at Aghadapro@twitter


Aghada have a face book page have a look and tell us if you like it


Please note that fixtures can change,
consult the web for up to date information