Aghada GAA Club News

19 March, 2013

Sat 16th Mar East Cork U21B F C Semi Final Aghada 3-9 Glenville 0-8


For the third week in a row this U21 team have improved enormously, when at times Aghada played champagne football cutting open the Glenville defence at will.


Ray Savage and William Leahy were a power house at midfield supplying the forwards with plenty ball and how they used it. Ronan Kennedy was on song and had 1-4 on the scoreboard by the 22nd minute, but it was far from a one man show with Shane Bennett, Josh O’Shea and Jake O’Donoghue combining at will and causing havoc with the Glenville defence.

Fair play to Glenville they never gave up and fought hard, they matched Aghada point for point up till Kennedy’s goal.

Aghada now turned the screw and a Josh point pushed Aghada on then just before the short whistle, Bennett was hauled down inside the parallelogram and O’Shea duly put away the spot kick as the seasiders but daylight between the sides 2-5 to 0-4


On resumption Glenville upped the anti scoring two points to one from Kennedy in the third quarter. Aghada found it a bit harder to open the defence as the game got hard. On the 45 m Tommy Dobbyn was rewarded for his hard work all evening with a long distance goal just after Ronan Kennedy had to leave the field with a bad knock. Josh and Ray Savage (0-2) finished the scoring with three points from frees.


team; Jack Hayes, Shane Crowley, Kane Looney, Shane Dorney, Tim Hartnett , Michael Gilroy, Brian Condon, William Leahy, Raymond Savage (0-2 frees), Dave Rice, Jake O’Donoghue, Tommy Dobbin (1-0), Ronan Kennedy (Capt) (1-5 frees 0-3), Josh O’Shea (1-2 free 0-1),Shane Bennett;

Subs; Georgio Corigliano Kennedy (inj)42m, Osín Lynch for O’Donoghue, Ryan O’Keeffe for Condon, Ml Burchill for Bennett, James O'Leary for Dobbyn all 56m,

We now play Dungourney in the final on Sun 7th April


The last time Aghada won a B final was in 1999 when we beat Fr O’Neills. The following year we won the A title. We won it again in 2004 when we beat Youghal in a rip roaring final the team that day was team D. Bowler, S. Cashman, B. Hennessy, D. Hanlon, F. O’Brien, C. Scanlon, E. Cotter, T. O’Neill, D. Morrissey,(0-2), J. Connolly, S. O’Keeffe(0-3),C. Hickey, B. Crowley (captain)(0-1),B. Morrissey(1-2),R. Good.(1-1)

Subs Used P Wall for O'Brien (inj) 45m. we won again in 2008 when we beat Carrignavar team Evan Kennedy, Conor Rice, Alan Morrissey, Shane Wall, Richie Condon, Paudie Wall, Eoin Healy, Sean O Donoghue (Captain) (0-1), Tom Houlihan, Alan Creedon (0-1), Michael Russell, Shane Scanlon, Ken O’Brien (0-1), Cian Fleming (0-5 4 frees), Finbarr Day subs Andrew O Donoghue for Russell 15th m (inj), Luke O Keeffe for Condon 38th m

Other results

Sun 17th Mar I H L Aghada 0-14 Fermoy 0-19team Martin Day, Brendan Crowley, Tom O’Neill, Alan Creedon, Dave Rice, Ml Russell, Shane Wall, Ger Melvin (0-2), Cian Fleming (0-1), Eoin Healy, Ton Wall (0-1),. John Connelly (0-1), Tim Hartnett, William Leahy (0- 8), Aidan O’Connell (0-1); sub used Jake O’Donoghue for Creedon 45m

Sat 16 Mar U14 Feile B football Blitz; Group 3. Aghada 1 – 1 Whites Cross 1 – 2; Whites Cross 0 – 3 Courcey Rvs 1 – 0; Courcey Rovers 1 – 2 Aghada 1 – 2

Tue 12th Mar I H L Aghada 0-7 Valley Rovers 3-13     


Lotto; Next week Draw for €4,750 at: ROSIES BAR Thur next: Mar 21st  (tickets sponsored by Rosie’s Bar). Last’s result winner: none; numbers drawn: 2, 5, 10, 26

lucky dip winners - €30 each Ciara & Conor Simpson, Paddy O’Shea – Peafield, Sarah & James - c/o Betty Irwin, Denise Moynihan, Zoë Cashman - Whitegate

You can follow us on twitter for up to the minute news you can also follow the games score by score at Aghadapro@twitter

Aghada have a face book page have a look and tell us if you like it

Please note that fixtures can change,
consult the web for up to date information