Aghada GAA Club News

12 March, 2013

Sat 9th Mar East Cork U21B F C Aghada 2-13 Cobh 0-4

Our U21 footballers face old rivals Glenville in the Semi final of the U21 B F C next weekend by virtue of a great win over Cobh last Sat night in Rostellan.

Aghada were a transformed team from the week before and applied pressure from the word go. Jake O’Donoghue, Josh O’Shea, Shane Bennett were to the fore up front. Tommy Dobbyn covered acres of ground as did Ray Savage and Willie Leahy while the backs were well marshalled by Michael Gilroy and Shane Dorney. 

On a very slippery sod Aghada were never in trouble with six different players scoring.

A very slick performance on the night but more required next weekend team

Jack Hayes, Ger O'Brien, Kane Looney, Shane Dorney, Tim Hartnett (0-1), Michael Gilroy, Brian Condon, William Leahy, Raymond Savage (0-1), Dave Rice (0-1), Jake O’Donoghue (0-2), Tommy Dobbin, Ronan Kennedy (Capt) (0-5 frees 0-3), Josh O’Shea (0-2),Shane Bennett (1-1); Subs Shane Crowley for O’Brien ½ time, Osín Lynch for O’Shea 45m, Ryan O’Keeffe for Leahy 52m, Ml Burchill (1-0) for Bennett 56m,

A great night was had by all at the Neven Maguire evening last Tue

Thanks to Trabolgan Holiday centre Days Eurospar Whitegate all the stall people an most importantly The Ladies that made the night so enjoyable


Sat 16th Mar East Cork U21B F C Semi Final Aghada v Glenville see Web for time and Venue

Results Mon 4th Mar J F L Div 1 Glenbower Rovers 1-15 Aghada 1-5

Mon 4th March U16 P2 FL Aghada 4-12 Glenville 1-13,

Team : Ciaran O Shea, Jordan Tynan, Aaron Butler, Kalen O Donoghue, Tadgh Gilroy. Mark Healy, Edward Leahy, Cein O Driscoll. Cian Savage. John Looney (1-4) Stephen O Halloran (0-1) Paul Daly. Charlie Terry (0-3) Daniel Creedon (0-1). Jack Farmer (2-0). Luke O Connell (1-0). Jack McDonnell, Aaron Berry. Matthew Kidney, Matthew Leahy, Declan Foley, Stephen Daly,


Lotto; Next week Draw for €4,500 at: THE SCHOONER Thur next: Mar 14th (tickets sponsored by Rosie’s Bar). Last’s result winner: none; numbers drawn: 7, 8, 14, 17

lucky dip winners - €30 each Pearl Aspinall – Guileen, Mossy Stack - c/o Jacko’s, Anthony Ahern – Aghada, Pat Ruane – Whitegate, Michael Russell – Whitegate

You can follow us on twitter for up to the minute news you can also follow the games score by score at Aghadapro@twitter

Aghada have a face book page have a look and tell us if you like it

Please note that fixtures can change,
consult the web for up to date information