Midleton GAA Club News

10 December, 2012

I would be very grateful if you could please include the following Midleton Gaa notes for the coming week.

Hurling & Football AGM

The Adult Hurling & Football club took place last Thursday in the Club pavilion before a healthy crowd of members.

Outgoing Chairman Niall O Neill opened the meeting and thanked all the outgoing officers, committees, selectors and players for their efforts in the past year.

Club Secretary Vincent Reddy presented a comprehensive report, he congratulated the various teams on their achievements over the past year notably the Fe 21 hurlers in retaining the East Cork Championship, the Junior B hurlers who completed a record four in row and also won the Division 3 league, the Junior C hurlers who retained there title and the Junior Footballers who won the Division 2 league. Vincent also highlighted the recent Development of Dressing rooms, Gym and a meeting room and thanked the Development Committee for delivering a fabulous project both on time and budget. Special thanks was afforded to the Fas Scheme, Club Shop, Club Referees, School Principals, County representatives, Gavin Power for operating the Club Texting service and last but no means least both outgoing officers Niall O Neill and John Curtin for their enormous contribution to the Club over the past number of years. Club Treasurer John Fenton produced a very detailed and healthy report and acknowledged the great contributions of both Pat O Brien and Mary Quinn. All team managers submitted detailed reports on the various teams training and games activity throughout the year as did IT Officer Alan Donegan and ASAP Officer Pearse Mc Carthy. Club President The Very Reverend Monsignor Eamon Gould oversaw the election of Officers which was followed by the election of team managers, Seamus Murphy was later elected a Vice President. 

Officers for 2013 are as follows;

Chairman - Liam Ryan

Vice Chairman - Kevin Hennessy

Secretary - Vincent Reddy

Treasurer - John Fenton

PRO - Coleman Quirke

Membership Officer - Terence Mc Carthy

IT Officer - Alan Donegan

ASAP Officer - Pearse Mc Carthy

Minor Rep - John Ferriter

Youth Officer - Michael Walsh

Player Rep - James Nagle

Coaching Officer - Martin Mc Sweeney

Irish & Cultural Officer - Niall O Neill

County Board Delegate - Patrick Horgan

East Cork Board Delegates - Ken Murray & John Curtin



Team Mangers for 2013 are as follows;

Senior Hurling  - Peter Smith

Junior A Hurling - Anthony Cody

Junior B & C Hurling - Gavin Power

Fe 21 Hurling - Pat Hartnett

Minor Hurling - Ger Manley

Junior A & B Football - Sean Corcoran

Fe 21 Football - Eoin Ferriter

Minor Football - Ger Manley

A very detailed proposal on Membership rates for 2013 was submitted by the Hurling  & Football committee and after much discussion and a little amendment it was passed for the coming year, details of which will be available very soon on the Club website.

County Championship Draw 2013

At the County convention on Saturday last the draws for the Hurling & Football championships took place.

Our seniors hurlers will face Douglas with the losers playing either Glen Rovers or the Barrs in Round 2.   

Club Lotto

On Friday night last our Jackpot of 11,800e was won by a regular supporter Mrs Jean Healy of Forrest Hill, the Jackpot for the coming week will revert back to 1,200e which would also be nice to win before Xmas so please support it. Tickets can be purchased from any committee member or from any of the following outlets, Club Bar, O Neills Bar, Linehans Bar, Maple Leaf Bar, O Farrell's Butchers, Frank Murphy Butchers and Chadwicks.  


Harty Cup Hurling

Congrats to our club players who represented Midleton CBS in their recent famous victory over last years All Ireland Champions Nenagh CBS at Charleville. The win qualify s them for a quarter final place on the 16th of January against either Ard Scoil Ris, Templemore or Dungarvan Colleges, indeed they will be flying the Red & White flag as the sole Cork team to reach this stage. Well done to Alan Stanton, Darren Quirke, Padraic Nagle (who missed the game through injury and we wish him a speedy recovery), Gavin Bagnell, Sean O Farrell, Byran Rossiter, Conan Finnegan and Seanaidh Smyth.

East Cork Board

At the recent East Cork Convention in Aghada our club member Ken Murray was re elected to the GPC and the outgoing Vice Chairman Dick Fitzgerald of Russell Rovers was elected Chairman, we wish them both well for the coming year and also thank the outgoing Chairman Michael O Brien of Aghada for his assistance to our club throughout the past number of years.


Juvenile Medal Presentation / Xmas Draw / Music

On Saturday next the 15th the Juvenile Club have organised a packed evening of entertainment one not to be missed. The evening begins at 6.45pm with the presentation of medals and the player of the year awards, light refreshments and food will be served. Immediately afterwards in the Lounge the Xmas draw will take place, tickets for this essential fundraiser are still available from Jim O Sullivan and Cormac Quirke and to finish off the evening local group ROUND 2 which includes Club player Neil O Regan and family members will entertain us with their fabulous array of songs. All members, parents, etc are welcome to attend.

Long Puck       

The Original and still the best Long Puck will once again take place on December 26th St Stephens morning from Lisgoold to Moore's Bridge Midleton, as usual all members, players past and present, family members are welcome to compete, there will be a Juvenile and Adult competition as normal, the bus will depart from the Gaa Club @ 10am sharp, soup and rolls will be served afterwards in the Club along with the prizes. 


Club Shop    

Under the stewardship of Michael Crotty and Mary Quinn the Club Shop will be open in the GAA Club Pavilion from 7.30 to 8.30 each Thursday and from 11am to 12 midday on Saturdays, anyone looking for Xmas presents can purchase Vouchers or Club playing or leisure wear.

To keep up to date with all Club activity visit our Website www.midletongaa.com

Is mise le meas

Colmain O Coirc

Oifgeach Caidreamh Poibli

Mainistir na Corann