Erin's Own V Ballinhassig

04 May, 2009

Erins Own 1-13 Ballinhassig 2-10

Erins own had to rely on the free taking of Eoghan Murphy to secure a draw in the opening round of the Senior Hurling Championship in Páirc Uí Chaoimh. In a game where we had the perfect start leading by 0-5 to no score after 12 minutes playing against the breeze we should not have found ourselves in this position. Approaching half time and leading by 0-8 to 0-4 Erins Own scored a wonderful goal following a great move by Peter and Sean Kelly, Mark O Connor flicked the ball to Eoghan Murphy to bat the ball to the net for a goal of sheer class. Erins Own led at half time by 1-8 to 0-5 and looked comfortable with the wind at their back for the second half.

The second half however failed to deliver the expected result. Even though we were in control for most of the game we were unable to pull away from a resilient Ballinhassig side. With 10 minutes remaining Ballinhassig scored the 1st of their 2 goals to reduce the gap to one point. Eoghan Murphy increased the lead to two again with a “65” but Ballinhassig scored a brilliant goal on 58 minutes to put them in the lead for the first time. With time up the “Hero” went on a run down the sideline and was fouled so it was left to Eoghan to score the difficult free and he duly obliged to set up a replay next Friday in Páirc Uí Rinn at 7.30pm.

Team; Shay Bowen, Shane Murphy, Patrick Fitzgerald, Kilian Murphy, Ronan O Carroll Stephen Cronin, Cian O Connor, Sean Kelly(0-1), Kieran Murphy (0-2),Alan Bowen, Peter Kelly(0-1), Colm Coakley, Maurice O Carroll(0-2) Mark O Connor(0-2)), Eoghan Murphy(1-5), . Subs, Michael Murphy for C Coakley, Brian Clifford for R O Carroll, Brian McHugh for Alan Bowen