Castlelyons GAA Club News

09 October, 2012

Castlelyons G.A.A notes.


Main SponsorSouth Coast Logistics


Junior Hurlers qualify for League Final.


Junior Hurling League, Div 3.


Castlelyons 2-9 v Erin’s Own 1-12


            The Junior Hurling team played last league game of the season at home and drew, which qualified them for the final.


            Castlelyons opened the scoring with a point in the first minute from the hurley of Colman O’Connell.  Shane Hickey scored the second in the second minute after a pass from Colman O’Connell.  Two minutes later Erin’s Own had their first point.  Alan O’Regan put over the third point for Castlelyons in the sixth minute.


            For the next fifteen minutes of the game Castlelyons were out of the game as Carrigtwohill put four points over the bar without reply.  In the twenty first minute Shane Hickey dropped a high ball into the square and Colm Dorgan was on hand to touch the ball into the net, which put Castlelyons a point ahead.  Colman O’Connell added a point to the lead almost immediately.  This was followed very soon after by a great save from David Kenny.  The sides scored a point each before the half time whistle.  The score now was 1-5 to Castlelyons and 0-6 to Carrigtwohill.


            In the opening minute of the second half Castlelyons won a penalty and Shane Hickey scored a second goal for Castlelyons and he followed with a point from play.  In the fifth minute David Kenny had difficulty seeing a high dropping ball in the lights and it went into the net.  A single goal now separated the sides.


            Two points in the seventh and ninth minutes reduced the lead to a minimum.  Shane Hickey restored the goal advantage with two points from frees.  The next three points also from frees went to Carrigtwohill.  The sides were now level with about six minutes of play left.


            A point from Alan O’Regan two minutes restored the lead to Castlelyons.  Carrigtwohill were not finished and a free a few minutes later allowed them to level the score again.  That was the last score of the game.


            Castlelyons top Section 1 of the league with 123 points and so qualify for the final.  Midleton are the winners of Section 2. 




David Kenny, Brendan Hoare, Martin F Dorgan, Mark Murphy, Paudie O’Regan, Larry Murphy, Coran Lawlor, Ronan O’Regan, Eoin O’Donovan, Alan O’Regan (0-2), Mike Hegarty, Chris Cotter. Shane Hickey(1-5), Colman O'Connell (0-2), Colm Dorgan (1-0),


Subs used: John Healy, Ned Daly




Junior Football League, Div 2


Castlelyons 2-12 v Carrigtwohill 0-4


            Castlelyons got off to a great start.   In the first minute Aidan O’Sullivan set Michael up for a goal which he duly put in.  It was the seventh minute before Carrigtwohill got their first point.  It was the fifteenth minute before the next point came and this was for Carrigtwohill after they had in the meantime amassed a total of five wides.


            Two minutes later Aidan O’Sullivan again gave Michael Hegarty another good pass and he put in a second goal for Castlelyons.  The next two points were scored by Darren Tobin, Ronan Fenton after fielding the ball set him up for the second.  The last point of the first half was put over by Aidan O’Sullivan after Darren Tobin gave him the pass.


            On the resumption of play Castlelyons continued from where they left off at half time.  They put over four points from play without reply from the opposition.  It wasn’t until the eighteenth minute that Carrigtwohill scored their third point and they followed this with their fourth eight minutes later.  Castlelyons then went on to add a further four point to their score and were convincing winners.


            Castlelyons will be meeting Russell Rovers in the first round of the championship.  This game will be played on Sunday 14th October at 2pm.  The venue is yet to be announced.




Eoin Murphy, David Kenny, Sean Kenny, Brendan Hoare, Declan Sexton, Colm Barry, Ronan Bransfield, Colm Spillane (0-1), Darragh Lawlor, Darran Tobin (0-4), Leo Sexton, Aidan O’Sullivan (0-3), Chris Cotter, Ronan Fenton, Michael Hegarty (2-0).


Sub used: Shane O’Sullivan (0-1)





            Sunday 14th October at 2pm JBFC 1st Round Castlelyons V Russell Rovers, Venue yet to be announced.



Cork GAA Clubs Draw.


            The Cork GAA clubs draw is being organised again for the coming year.  Everyone who was a member last year will have received notification by now.  Please contact your promoter to pay for the coming year.  Promoters are also urged to contact members also. 


            New members are also welcome. Please contact any officer or committee member.   The prizes each month are both numerous and attractive. 


            Membership is €100 for the year and €45 of that stays in the club.  It is an attractive draw and is a very good financially for the club.





            The date of the Annual General Meeting has been set for Friday 30th November at the Community Centre.



Votes of Sympathy


            The club extends sympathy to the Spillane family of Ballyoran on their recent bereavement.


            The Club extends sympathy to the family of Frank Sexton of Mayfield who died recently.


            The club extends sympathy to the Hogan family of Mondaniel on the death of Seamus.




            Castlelyons GAA club congratulates Dungourney on winning the Cork County U21 B hurling championship.  Well done.



Next week’s Lotto Jackpot, €14,000


The Lotto numbers drawn this week were 2, 7, 17, and 19.  There was no jackpot winner.


The following each won €20 each.


1.     Sean Whelan Glenarousk, c/o Ml Hegarty


2.     jerry Healy, Kill-St-Anne, c/o D Hegarty


3.     Kathleen Murphy, c/o J Moroney


4.     R.M.N.C, Winner’s Enclosure, Conna, c/o J Moroney


5.     Conor McCarthy, Ballydaw, c/o B McCarthy


6.     John Healy, Killawillin, c/o J Healy


7.     Sinead Hickey, Kill-St-Anne, c/o Siun Spillane


8.     Evan and Oran Sheedy, c/o Peddlar’s Rock


Next draw on Monday night next will be at the Peddlar’s Rock Bar, Castlelyons..   The jackpot will be €14,000


Please make sure that all Lotto tickets are at the Venue each week by 9.30pm.