Aghada GAA Club News

20 August, 2012

Two great games over the weekend but mixed results a mighty win for the minors but the U21 team just failed by a single point after extra time.
Sat 18th Minor Hurling final Aghada 4-18 Donoghmore 2-6
Aghada turned on the style to win the Eastern Region Minor B Hurling Championship at Whitechurch last Sat Evening the 17th Aug. don’t be fooled by the final score as Donoughmore gave as much as they got in the opening half , indeed they led for most of if.
For the opening ten minutes it was point for point as the mid Cork men matched scores by Stephen Murphy, Scott Coyle Garde, and Jake O’Donoghue. A goal rattled Aghada but Aaron Stafford levelled with three points from placed balls. A second goal followed and the seasiders had to respond again following great work by Jack Hayes in the centre of the park, Jake O’Donoghue lashed over two points. Aghada now with Conor O’Driscoll in command in the centre of the defence meant that their forwards had more ball. A poachers goal from Scott Coyle Garde levelled the game as the half closed. A Daniel Creedon point followed for the lead and then an Aaron Stafford goal now operating on the forty saw Aghada ahead by 2-9 to 2-5 at the brake.

Aghada resumed on a high with Ryan O’Keeffe and Coyle Garde firing over two minors, this was followed by three long range frees from the stick of Stafford and when Coyle Garde struck for his second major it was all over.
Aghada then gave a master class in hurling with Coyle Garde, Stafford and O’Driscoll to the fore.
While Donoughmore never gave up the Seasiders backline was well on top with Shane Crowley and outside him Cian Savage in mighty form. Aghada emptied the bench but it was no respite for the Mid Cork men as Mark Healy cut through and rattled the net to put the tin hat on the win Team; James O’Leary, Aaron Butler, Shane Dorney, Shane Crowley, Kane Looney (Capt) Conor O’Driscoll, Cian Savage, Aaron Stafford (1-8 frees 0-7), Jack Hayes, Ml Leahy , Jake O’Donoghue (0-3), Ryan O’Keeffe (0-2), Daniel Creedon (0-2), Stephen Murphy (0-1), Scott Coyle Garde (2-2). Subs used Robbie Steel for Leahy 20th m, Paul Daly for Crowley 54th m, Mark Healy (1-0) for O’Donoghue 55th m, Mark Wall for Creedon 55th m, Jack Farmer for Butler 55th m.

Sun 19th Aug U21 B H C replay Aghada 0-21 Dungourney 1-19

What a game of hurling it had everything, trills spills, square goals, extra time and of course some of the finest hurling skills you would wish to see. Both teams were spent at the end of this pulsating game and it all came down to a single score as William Leahy tried to blast a thirty yard free to net to steal the game in injury time of extra time as Aghada were two points down and it only just went over the bar.
Both teams lined out different from the last day and Aghada had to do with out Michael Russell and of course three of the winning minors from the night before also had to line out.
No team ever got more than two points ahead at any time during the game. Dungourney opened with a strong wind to their backs, and had Aghada under pressure but outstanding performances from Dave Rice at centre back and Andy O’Donoghue at full kept the Duns in check. Up front William ploughed a lone furrow scoring six of Aghada’s seven in the open half and five of them came from placed balls. The only other score came from the stick of Captain Eoin Savage. It was tit for tat up until the 20th minute when the Duns scored the all important goal as they led at the short whistle by 1-6 to 0-7.

Aghada turned with the wind and got on top and were level within three minutes after a William free and a great effort from Eoin Healy. Two Dungourney points followed then Aghada struck their best spell a mighty point from Ronan Kennedy followed by two frees from William saw Aghada ahead entering the home straight and looking good but the pendulum turned again and in the final minute of the game Dungourney corner back Sean Broderick landed a great point to level the game and extra time.
Aghada started with the wind in extra time but it was the Duns who scored first, it was point for point until the 6th m when Dungourney put two points together and this was the crucial score as Aghada could never put together two scores to draw level again
Both teams gave of their all but Conor O’Driscoll, Jack Hayes, Ryan O’Keeffe, James O’Leary and Kane Looney must be commended for playing two and a half games within 24 hours. Team ; James O’Leary, Brian Condon, Andy O’Donoghue, Ger O'Brien, Tim Hartnett, Dave Rice, Jack Hayes, Jose O’Shea, Ray Savage, Osín Lynch, Eoin Healy (0-1), Eoin Savage (capt) (0-3), Ronan Kennedy (0-1), Conor O’Driscoll, William Leahy (0-16 frees 0-12)Subs used Ryan O’Keeffe for Lynch ½ time, Cane Looney for O’Brien 34m. Osín Lynch for Ray Savage extra time.

Thur 23rd Aug Minor A FL 2 Canovee vs Aghada @ Canovee 7-30
Sat 25th U14 FC P2 Bishopstown vs Aghada @ TBC at 3-00pm
26th U15 HC Aghada v Ballinhassig in ??? @ 11-00
Mon 27th Aug IHL Aghada vs Castlelyons in Rostellan @7-15
Sat 1st Sept IHC Aghada v Arigdeen Rgs in Ballygarvan @ 6-00.
Sat 1st U14 Premier 2 FL Aghada vs Sam Maguires @ Rostellan 2-00
Sat 8th Sept U14 Premier 2 (1) HL Bishopstown vs Aghada @ Bishopstown 1-pm


€15,750 Jackpot next draw at: Guileen Arms  Thur Aug 23rd 
(Tickets Sponsored by Rosie’s Bar). Last’s result
Winner: none; numbers drawn 10, 14, 17, 21; Tracey O'Neill C/O TKS, Mary Cahill Lr Aghada, Leonard Slye Whitegate, Ivor Stallard c/O Long Point, Bobby McSwiney Rostellan

Aghada have a face book page have a look and tell us if you like it

Please note that fixtures can change, consult the web for up to date information