Aghada advance to 3rd round Aghada 1-8 O' Donovan Rossa's 0-8

19 April, 2009

Aghada opened in whirl wind fashion, with both cork players minor and senior ruling the roost at centre field. Pearse and Owen Healy were well on top which resulted in Aghada scoring 1-4 by the end of 1st quarter. This was champagne football as our lads ran the Skibb boys off the field. Aghada passed and moved the ball at pace with the long kicks finding Trigger and Fleming at will. Then it all stopped as finally Rossa’s found their feet and started to crowd Aghada who by now were guilty of over carrying. The second quarter was played on the back foot but Rossa’s could only score 2 minors as Ronan Power, Banna and Crowley covered mighty ground. Our earlier points from Melvin, Fleming, Pearse followed by Triggers goal and a point saw Aghada go into the brake 1-4 to 0-2 to the good.

From the throw in the West cork side pointed, this was followed by one from Melvin. Rossa’s added two more to leave the game in the balance by the 36th m slowly Aghada got to grips with the game again with Kieran O’Connor going back into the corner and Shane Wall going half back and our 3rd minor taking to the field (and what a great impression Michael Russell made). A point from Trigger settled the nerves on the 42nd m. Fleming followed with one five minutes later as Aghada restored the 4 point lead. Trigger scored an unbelievable free form all of forty yards out on the sideline with seven minutes remaining Aghada looked home and dry. To the west corks men’s credit they came back at Aghada putting to minors on the board but try as they might the goal that they were after never looked like coming. The interdiction of Ronan Dwane on the 44th minute had a calming effect on the team and he marshalled affairs to the end.

In a team sprinkled with youth and experience it had a very balanced look about it. Indeed a blast for the past Davie Creedon accounted for himself well. As did the Minors Russell, Healy and O’Donoghue.


Andrew O’Donoghue

Brendan Crowley, Paul Kilbane, Brian Wall.

Kieran O’Connor, Paudie Wall, Ronan Power

Pearse O’Neill, Eoin Healy

Shane Wall, Stephen O’Keeffe, Dave Creedon

Ger Melvin (capt), Trevor O’Keeffe, Cian Fleming.

Michael Russell for Brian Wall ½ time, Ronan Dwane for Melvin 44th m, Adian Kelleher for O’Neill 46th m (blood) O’Neill for Kelleher 48th (blood), Colm Power for Fleming 56th m.