Dungourney GAA Club News

25 June, 2012

Lotto Mon18th June jackpot 300euro no winner.Next weeks jackpot 450euro.


East cork junior A hurling Championship first round.Dungourney v Russell Rovers in Ballymacoda.

Dungourneys bid to retain their coveted Jamesey Kelleher cup began last Friday night at a breezy Aghavine pitch where we took on a youthful Russell Rovers.The game began well for us when three points each from the two Shane's Casey and  Hegarty and one each fromKevin Kelleher and Martin Wall saw us race into an eight point lead after thirteen minutes.Rovers responded well however and they had the four next points to narrow the margin,John Ronayne got us back on track with a fine point on twenty four and our lads showed their sharpness by adding four more points before half time two from Kevin Kelleher  one from Daz Ahern and a pointed free from Shane Casey half time score Dungourney 0.13 Russell Rovers 0.04.

Dungourney played very well in that first half aided by the strong breeze and it was good to see different names on the score sheet the backs were very sound too but against that breeze the pressure would be on in the second half.

The teams had two points each on the board when Kevin Kelleher billowed the Rovers net after Shane Casey had a penalty saved on six minutes -a great start to the second half.Russel rovers had the next score a pointed free but when Shane Casey had great run into the opposition box his pass found Kelleher who got his second goal in four minutes.Points from Ken Kelleher ,Daz,Shane Casey (2) Shane Hegarty(2)and Kevin Kelleher finished out the match for us and even though Rovers added five more points of their own it was a case of too little too late and Dungourney were the victors.

So a good display from our lads but I'm sure that when Sean gets them back to the training pitch he'll point out where improvements can be made,take nothing away from the team though it was a job well done.

James McCarthy,Mark Hegarty,Brendan Hegarty,Kevin Rohan,Warren McCarthy ,James Leahy,Paul Kelleher,Martin Wall,Eoghan Ahern,Ken Kelleher,John Ronayne,Shane Casey,Shane Hegarty,Kevin Kelleher,Darragh Ahern.