Erin's Own Snatch Victory with Golden Goal

12 April, 2009

Erins Own Snatch Victory with Golden Goal

Erins Own 2-05 Fr. O Neills 0-10

Erins Own snatched victory with a goal in the 61st minute of the 3rd round of the Junior A Championship in Killeagh today, however the drama did not finish there as Patrick Walsh had to make a marvellous save which resulted in a “45” which Erins Own had to defend. We were relieved to see the ball drift wide and hear the final whistle.

In glorious weather conditions both teams served an open and entertaining game of football. Erins Own opened the scoring through a fisted point by Team Manager Michael Mulcahy. Fr O Neills playing with a strong breeze replied with point of their own and took the game to Erins Own. Fr O Neills were well on top and leading by 3 points to 1 when a rasping shot rebounded off the Erins Own crossbar and was cleared to safety. Despite this let off Erins Own failed to lift their game and Fr O Neills led 0-7 to 0-3 at half time with Ronan Aherne and Stephen Aherne getting the other 2 points.

Fr O Neill continued to dominate the early stages of the 2nd half and were leading by six points after 40 minutes. Erins Own now realised that the game was slipping from their grasp and they began to play with more urgency. The goal that was so badly needed came from Michael Mulcahy when he connected with the fist from a cross by Maurice O Carroll. This score inspired his team and resulted in better teamwork but we were guilty of some poor shooting. A further 2 points from frees by Ronan Aherne reduced the lead to 2 points. With time almost up Erins Own won a sideline and Niall Scanlon’s effort from the 45m line struck the post and Mark Collins calmly slotted the rebound home. Erins Own had to defend for the remaining minutes and celebrated the final whistle whe it sounded.

While this was a great team effort Erins Own had excellent performances from Pat Walsh, Patrick Fitzgerald, Niall Scanlon and Ronan Aherne.

Team; Patrick Walsh, Chris Ryan, Ronan O Carroll, Denis Mulcahy, Sean Kelly, Patrick Fitzgerald, Niall Scanlon, Ian Quinlan, Mark Collins(1-0), Ian O Mahony, Diarmuid O Flynn, Maurice O Carroll, Stephen Aherne(0-1), Michael Mulcahy(1-1), Ronan Aherne (0-3)