An Illustrated History of the GAA in East Cork 1924 - 2010 a sneak peak

18 November, 2011

The ghost who had haunted Fr. O’Neill’s in Divisional ‘A’ finals down the years was finally banished at Kennedy Park, Killeagh when they captured the Jamesy Kelleher trophy for the first time.
As the championship wore on from early summer, their determination, skill and ability became more obvious and while Castlelyons tested their mettle in the final, victory ultimately came their way by the narrow margin of 1-7 to 0-9.
At the finish Castlelyons were understandably crushed because they could have made more of their dominance early in the second half. Subsequently, they were dealt a cruel blow when wing-forward Michael Broderick scored the only goal of the game from a loose ball in a crowded goalmouth.
Still while the last ten minutes was most unpredictable, Fr. O’Neill’s who led by two points at the break, had the heart, and resolve to keep going for victory. Over the hour goalkeeper Tom Finn was superb and Pat O’Brien and Brian O’Driscoll were dominant figures down the spine of the defence. Top scorer Michael Broderick was undoubtedly the player who turned the screw when the game was delicately balanced. Timmy McCarthy and Barry Fitzgerald were Castlelyons chief marksmen.
Fr. O’Neill’s: Tom Finn, Dick O’Neill (capt.), Pat O’Brien, Declan O’Regan,
Ray O’Neill, Brian O’Driscoll, William Hennessy, Brian O’Callaghan, Colm Millerick, Michael Broderick, Jerome O’Connell, Alan Brett, Luke Swayne, John O’Connell,
Chris O’Brien. Sub: Ger Holland.          More Photos

Book Cover


Fr O'Neills 1963