An Ilustrated History of the GAA in East Cork 1924 - 2010

16 November, 2011

Tom Morrison's new book An Illustrated History of the GAA in East Cork 1924 - 2010 will be launched at Midleton GAA Club on Wednesday the 30th of November at 8pm. The Book will be officially launched by Christy Cooney the President of the GAA.

Here is a flavour of this wonderful new book which will add tremendously to the very fabric of Imokilly GAA History

1924 – 1926

In the early twenties turbulent clouds still hung over the country following the war and unease within the community and this did not clear until 1923 when the Irish Free State was set on a firm footing. Consequently, several hundred were detained in prisons, including many GAA personalities and conditions in the country were far from normal.
As the months gathered momentum many events got back on track and the main focus of the interest for East Cork followers was the founding of the divisional board at the town hall, Cobh on April 13th 1924. The meeting of the board was presided over by Henry Murphy, Chairman of the County Board and the following represented their clubs:
Ben Purcell, Jim Cotter (Cobh), William Ahern (Carrigtwohill), Billy Moore, Dan Cahill (Dungourney), Eamonn Fleming, Paddy O’Connell (Midleton), J. J Murphy,
Frank De Lacey (Little Island), Jack Murphy, Paddy Lynass (Youghal). James Murphy, Joe Foley (Sarsfields).
Officers elected were – Chairman: Ben Purcell (Cobh), Vice-Chairman: James Barry (Carrigtwohill), Treasurer: Joe Foley (Sarsfields), Secretary: Eamonn Fleming (Midleton). Fairly quickly junior leagues were organised among teams like Cobh, Youghal, Little Island, Sarsfields, Midleton, Dungourney, Aghada, Carrigtwohill, Glanmire, Lisgoold, Ladysbridge, Castlemartyr, Killeagh.
Midleton and Carrigtwohill played for the Youghal Cup at Copper Alley; just one point separated the teams in the final after a thrilling spectacle. Spearheaded by the boards Sec Eamonn Fleming, the Competition was between five East Cork teams, Sarsfields, Youghal, Carrigtwohill, Cobh, and Midleton 

Ballymocoda East Cork Junior B Hurling champions 1957  More Photos

Ballymocoda 1957 East Cork Junior B winners