East Cork Junior B Hurling Championship Final Ends Level

28 October, 2011

East Cork Junior B Hurling Final

MIDLETON           1-12

Derek Kiely
In Castlemartyr

JUSTICE, was perhaps done when St Catherine’s Michael Hegarty tied the scores for a fifth time in this well contested Fermoy Print & Design, Junior “B” hurling final, played in Castlemartyr on Saturday afternoon to deny Midleton a three in a row.
Davy Hogan put Midleton ahead in the opening minute from a 65 but for the next 50 minutes, they played second fiddle to a St Catherine’s side that played some terrific hurling. James “junior” Sheehan was in inspirational form scoring four points in the opening ten minutes with Brian Hogan and John Mulcahy also landing points. Midleton came back coming up to half time with Philip O’Neill, Liam Walsh and Davy Hogan scoring but they still trailed by 0-6 to 0-8 at the interval.
On the resumption Hogan and Michael Hegarty exchanged points as St Catherine’s continued to fight for every ball. Midleton found the going tough throughout as Peter Smith, Sean Corcoran, Aonghus Cotter and Justin Costigan drove forward, but solid defending from Martin O’Keeffe, James Neville and Alan Keane kept them out. It took a fortunate goal from sub Niall Walsh to put some energy into the Midleton challenge as his shot went in off the hurley of Bill Ahearn to put Midleton ahead going into the final ten minutes.
St Catherine’s refused to panic, and in the final ten minutes the sides were level on four further occasions with Michael Hegarty’s equalising point giving the Ballynoe outfit a second bite at the cherry.

Scorers for St Catherine’s: M Hegarty 0-6 f, J Sheehan 0-5 (1f), P O’Connor and B Hogan 0-2 each, J Mulcahy 0-1.

Midleton: D Hogan 0-8(6f), N Walsh 1-0, P O’Neill 0-2, L Walsh and P O’Farrell 0-1 each.

ST CATHERINE'S: B Ahearn (Cap); D Lane, M O’Keeffe, J Case; S Kearney, A Keane, J Neville; J Mulcahy, J Noonan; P O’Connor, J Sheehan, B Hogan; M Hegarty, L O’Connor. C Kearney.
Subs: D Noonan for L O’Connor (40) and M Dinneen for J Mulcahy (50)

MIDLETON: C Swayne; P Stack, E Ferriter, L Clohessy; N O’Regan, B Fitzgerald, I O’Brien; D Hogan (Capt), J Costigan; B O’Sullivan, S Corcoran, P Smith; P O’Farrell, A Cotter, P O’Neill.

Subs: L Walsh for B O’Sullivan (25) N Walsh for J Costigan (49)

Referee: Aidan Barry