Sarsfields lift the Avondhu/Imokilly League Division 1 Title

31 July, 2011

Riverstown celebrate as Sarsfields lift the Avondhu/Imokilly Division 1 League Title

Sarsfields 2-15

Newtownshandrum 1-15

By Derek Kiely In Fermoy

SARSFIELDS lifted the very first Cavanaghs Inter-Divisional Avondhu/Imokilly division one hurling league title with a late fight back victory over Newtownshandrum in Fermoy on Sunday evening. Sars looked very bright in the opening exchanges with early scores from Pat Barry and three unanswered points of the stick of full forward John Murphy, but Newtown were scoring through the very impressive Michael Thompson to keep the game tight.

Sars led by four points just before the short whistle, but an injury time penealty finished emphatically by Gerry Lane left the narrowest of margins between the sides at the break. The opening quarter of the second half belonged to the North Cork men who raced into a four point lead with just twelve minutes remaining with scores from Dinny O’Mahony, Billy Clifford, Thompson and four great scores from Gerry Lane.

Sarsfields have tremendous heart and a never give up attitude. Just like the semi final victory over Charleville a week ago when late goals saw Sars through, this match was a carbon copy of that game with second half substitute Connor English scoring a goal on the 51st minute set up by John Murphy and English then repaid Murphy with a beautiful ball on the 55th minute and the Sarsfields full forward made no mistake finishing the move off with a cracking goal.

The goals certainly swung the match the way of the men from Riverstown, plus a couple of late Pat Barry points sent the title down Imokilly way.

Despite some late chances from Newtownshandrum, referee Cathal McAlister blew the final whistle on a thoroughly entertaining game of hurling in a competition that has had unprecedented success and as well as winning the inaugural league title the men from Riverstown won themselves a brand new car too, courtesy of Cavanaghs of Fermoy.

Scorers for Sarsfields: P Barry 0-9 (7f) J Murphy 1-4, C English 1-0, N Horgan and C Duggan 0-1 each.

Newtownshandrum: G Lane 1-6 (4f) M Thompson 0-6, B Clifford, D O’Mahony and J O’Connor 0-1 each.

SARSFIELDS: C Duggan; E O’Keefe, P Roche, E Whooley; G Grey, D O’Regan, B McCarthy; R Duggan, D Gainey; N Horgan, P Barry, R Murphy, N McCarthy, J Murphy, C Duggan.

Subs: J Cashman for Niall McCarthy (HT) C English for Niall Horgan (37) J Leopold for D Gainey (50)

NEWTOWNSHANDRUM: S Watson; B Clifford, S Moran, S Young; A T O’Brien, R Fallon, E O’Connor; M Thompson, K O’Connor; K McNamara, D O’Connor, G Lane; M Farrell, J O’Connor, P Noonan.

Sub: D O’Mahony for K McNamara (22) (Inj)

Referee: Cathal McAlister ( Aghada )