Castlemartyr GAA Club News

30 May, 2011

Castlemartyr GAA Golf Classic 2011

Our annual fundraising golf classic was held at a windy East Cork GC on Thursday last. After all the scores were in and checked it was the sponsors team, Bord Gais who were declared the winners. In the non-GUI section, Shortts bar were declared the winners. Full results were as follows;

GUI Section

1st – Bord Gais. Jerry Gleeson, John O’Shea, Frank O’Shea

2nd – Fr. O’Neills GAA, Johnny Finn, Michael Mellerick, Mary Pomphrett

3rd – Lawton Vending, Bernard Lawton, Mary Lawton, Tara McCarthy

4th – Christy O’Sullivan, Eamon McSweeney, Harry Lawlor

5th – Bord Gais, Jim O’Reilly, Tomas Aherne, Brendan Byrne

Non-GUI Section

1st – Shortts Bar, Michael John Crowley, Dwaine Bernard, Ger Duggan

2nd – Jim O’Rourke, Johnny Morgan, Joe Stack

3rd – Youghal Garda, Eoin Hodnett, Darren Feehan, Shay Lyons

Nearest the pin: Dwaine Bernard

Longest drive: Dave Bennett

Special thanks must go to Christy O’Sullivan who put in a huge amount of work into the event and also to our sponsors, Bord Gais.

J H L Div 3 Section 2

Castlemartyr 0-15 Carrigtwohill 4-11

Castlemartyr played well in this league outing despite losing to Carrightwohill. In terms of procession, Castlemartyr had as much of the ball as Carrightwohill, but by conceding a number of soft goals handed they points to the opposition.

Castlemartyr will be happy with their own scoring record and will take plenty of positives from the game.

Team: D Roche, D Scully, J O’Donovan, K Lynch, D O’Tuama, R O’Donovan, B Barrett, S Collins, K O’Leary, D Bernard, M Bowens, J Barry, G Swayne, P Abernethy, K Abernethy. Subs Used: P Beausang, C Beausang, M J Crowley

Fixtures Avondhu/Imokilly J H L S1 : Sat 4th Jun : Castlemartyr v Ballyhooley in Castlemartyr 3pm